Becoming a Narp

I have been playing field hockey for 10 years of my life. Now, I feel as though I am trying to quit my addiction cold turkey. It has been several weeks since field hockey season has ended, and my mind still cannot comprehend that I will no longer be playing field hockey at a highly competitive level. My brain refuses to acknowledge this notion mostly because field hockey is my passion. I am slightly convinced I will have to endure another winter workout season, but I will soon realize that I don’t have to. I absolutely love playing though I have had good and bad experiences with it. Also, I will probably still keep up with college field hockey years after I have stopped playing because even if I can’t play I love watching it.  I will probably even watch the Euro Hockey League. If you never heard of the Euro Hockey League, I highly recommend at least watching a highlight video of any one of the club teams that are in the league. They are exciting games to watch because the players are so skilled and talented.

If I am going to embrace narp life I am going to need a new hobby. For those of you wondering, narp stand for non-athlete regular person, and it is slang that athletes use to differentiate between athletes and non-athletes. Most of the time athletes get annoyed when non-athletes complain about not having enough time to do their homework. To us, these people have way more time to get stuff done compared to us. We love our sport, but a lot of the time it is overwhelming trying to juggle schoolwork, practice/games, and have somewhat of a social lives. Most other students do not realize what we go through, so to hear them complain is just plain annoying. And to clarify, I am not talking about those students who have part-time jobs or other such extra-curricular activities. I am talking about those students who have the ability to take 3 hours naps or who sit around and watch Netflix all the time. Those students have no room to complain because the reality is that they have plenty of time to do homework. They seem to complain for the sake of complaining. As a collegiate athlete, I feel like there are not enough hours in day to get everything I need done. The older I get, the harder each semester gets; however, I don’t have to worry about that for long because I am almost done with school. I have one more semester until I become an actual adult.

Leave a Reply

