My Little Ghost Shadow Named Brittany Talley

Being on a team does not mean you all have to be friends with one another off the field. There have been girls that have come through the Mercyhurst field hockey program that hated each other, but you would never know that unless informed otherwise. And, that is on purpose because we practice acting as a team. We cannot win games if we cannot work together, so as soon as we step onto the field those feelings of dislike are put on the back burner. We don’t have to be friends, but we do have to be teammates. On the flip side, some girls on the team end up getting along better with one another compared to others. Their personalities seem to mesh better than others which is normal on a team.

Personally, I consider everyone on the team my best friend. I know if I needed help, I would be able to go to anyone on the team and they would do their best to help me whatever my need is. With that being said, it takes time to get to know everyone on the team especially as a freshman. As you get older, it gets easier because pretty soon the only new people on the team are the freshmen. I have learned that sometimes when getting to know a new person you need to be the one to make the effort to get to know them. I remember being a freshman and being overwhelmed by all the new people not only on my team but also all the new college freshmen I was around. As a result, I try to make every new group of freshmen comfortable by talking to them first and making sure they knew I cared about them.

Last season, I found that every time I turned around at field hockey practice Brittany Talley would happen to be behind me. I’m not sure if subconsciously she really liked me or if it was coincidence, but soon it got to the point where we started joking around that she was my shadow. She has been my personal ghost and haunting me ever since. We have become a lot closer, and through her I have been able to become closer Tina as well. It is crazy to think that a sport like field hockey brought us all together. If we had never played, we might not have all met each other and we would not be the great friends we are.

Leave a Reply

